The Tennessee Council for History Education is a professional organization whose Board of Directors is dedicated to promoting the importance of history in schools and in society. The Council is supported by the contributions of individuals and Teaching American History grants. TNCHE links history in the schools with many activities sponsored by state and local organizations. We provide a communications network for all advocates of history education, whether in schools, colleges, museums, historical councils, or community groups.

Statement of Purpose

The Tennessee Council for History Education is organized and maintained to:

  • advocate and advance the study and teaching of history in schools throughout the state
  • encourage and support the development and implementation of meaningful and effective history curriculum and instruction
  • provide professional development for history educators
  • provide for educational and professional interaction among history educators and public historians.

Board of Directors

East TN:

Rachel Frazier, Teacher, Robertsville Middle School, Oak Ridge Schools
Lisa Oakley, Curator of Education, East Tennessee Historical Society
Nancy Schurr, Professor of History, Chattanooga State Community College

Middle TN:
Tara Mitchell Mielnik, Associate Professor, The School of Humanities, Education and the Arts, Cumberland University
Kira Duke, Education Specialist, Teaching with Primary Sources – Middle Tennessee State University (State Coordinator)
Lee Ramsey, Secondary Social Studies Specialist, Rutherford County Schools

West TN:
Kimberly Taylor, Academic Programs, Memphis Museum of Science and History
Blair Lynch, Teacher, University Middle School
Dr. Dan McDonough, Professor, Department of History, University of Tennessee at Martin

At Large:
Brian Davis, Instructional Advisor-High School Social Studies, Shelby County Schools
Dean Burress, K-12 Instructional Coach, Knox County Schools
Andrew Polk, Assistant Professor, Department of History, Middle Tennessee State University
Clay Huffaker, Teacher, Chattanooga Christian School
Kyle Alexander, Director of Social Studies, Metro Nashville Public Schools
Todd Wigginton, Metro Nashville Public Schools – Retired (Treasurer)